Close
Workshop

Switches and Sensors with Arduino and TouchDesigner For Beginners & Intermediate

This workshop is live and recorded, and will be made available on-demand a few days after its live date. 

Session 1 – 2 hours: Saturday 14th May 4pm UK, 5pm Berlin, 8am LA, 11am NYC

Session 2 – 2 hours: Sunday 15th May 4pm UK, 5pm Berlin, 8am LA, 11am NYC

Price is inclusive of both sessions


Create immersive interactive experiences by combining Arduino with TouchDesigner, a powerful node based programming environment with endless possibilities for interactive installation, marketing activations, generative art, multimedia performance, and more! In this course you will learn very basic electronics, introductory Arduino skills, and the fundamental concepts of interaction using buttons and sensors to control video in TouchDesigner.

 

WHAT'S THIS ARDUINO THING?

Arduino is a microcontroller that allows you to control electronic components and input data from sensors, buttons, switches, and output data to things like lights, motors and more! It's also software that allows you to change the code on the board. In our workshop, we will minimize Arduino coding and use it within the TouchDesigner environment.

 

*** Pricing excluding kit, components to be purchased separately – see kit list in requirements section  ***

 

WHAT YOU'LL LEARN

  • Create Arduino based electronic prototypes
  • Become familiar with electronic components and design considerations
  • Control video in TouchDesigner with buttons and sensors
  • Apply interaction design concepts for developing installations and brand activations
     

     

Requirements


ABOUT THE INSTRUCTOR

Kyle Duffield is a Toronto based Interactive and Experience Design Professional who creates immersive interactive installations and brand activations. He is also known for his affiliation with the studio and former gallery, Electric Perfume. As an educator, and technical consultant, he has facilitated interactive media workshops and projects with institutions across Canada, Shanghai, and online. Currently, Kyle is participating in Cycling 74’s Max Certified Trainer Program, and is focusing on creating unforgettable technological experiences.

 

Website: http://www.kyleduffield.com

Experience level