Close
Workshop

Getting Started with TouchDesigner – October series For Beginners

Dates and Times: Thursdays 7th / 14th / 21st / 28th October 6pm UK / 7pm Berlin / 10am LA / 1pm NYC

Level: Beginners curious about creating immersive visuals with TouchDesigner

TouchDesigner is a powerful tool for creating live performances, installations, real time visuals and complex digital systems. In this series of workshops you’ll learn the basic functioning of TD’s node-based workflow and how to use them to create media, use the data to manipulate content and how to organize and navigate your TouchDesigner networks.

Who is this workshop for?

Aspiring visual and media artists who’d like to get started with TouchDesigner

Series Learning Outcomes

By the end of this series a successful student will be able to create content by:

  • Becoming familiar with the User Interface

  • Exploring TouchDesigner’s building blocks

  • Constructing dynamic visual effects

  • Applying basic audio reactivity and other techniques

Series Study Topics

  • TouchDesigner User Interface and patching

  • How to use building blocks (operators)

  • Controlling parameters for dynamic visuals

  • Audio reactivity and visual effects techniques

Requirements

  • A computer with internet connection

  • A web cam and mic

  • A Zoom account

  • A three button mouse or to configure Apple Track Pad appropriately

  • TouchDesigner (free version suffices https://derivative.ca/download)

  • If you’re on Mac please check TouchDesigner can run on your system (i.e. has basic GPU requirements such as Intel HD4000 or better)

About the workshop leader 

Bileam Tschepe aka elekktronaut is a Berlin based artist and educator who creates audio-reactive, interactive and organic digital artworks, systems and installations in TouchDesigner, collaborating with and teaching people worldwide.

Experience level