Close

Timecode CHOP

Summary

The Timecode CHOP generates Timecode data (channels, a .timecode python object and other python members). Its Mode menu provides a variety of ways to get, set and generate timecode through its parameters, including being driven from a timecode string, a set of channels, or other OPs that have timecode such as video input devices. You can also set timecode with python functions.

The timecode data is output as both channel data in the CHOP, and as a Timecode object via its .timecode member in Python.

The timecode can follow the SMPTE standard (ie. non-negative, frames-per-second up to 60, loops at 24 hours), or a more general format (ie. any number of frames per second, negative timecode allowed, loops at 100 hours).

When being driven by channels, an input with channels named negative, hour, minute, second, or frame can be provided that is added to the Timecode CHOP's output.

See also: Timecode, Timecode Class and the OP Snippets for the Timecode CHOP.

PythonIcon.pngtimecodeCHOP_Class


Parameters - Timecode Page

SMPTE smpte - When enabled the generated timecode will follow the SMPTE timecode standard, meaning no negative timecodes, and the timecode will loop at 24 hours. When disabled, the format will be more general, allowing for negative numbers and a maximum timecode of 100 hours.

Mode mode - - The source used for generating the timecode

  • Locked to Timeline lockedtotimeline - Generates the timecode from the timeline's time.
  • Specify Index specifyindex - Generates the timecode from a single index value.
  • Timecode String timecodestr - Generates the timecode from a timecode string following the format: hh:mm:ss:ff or hh:mm:ss.ff
  • Hour, Minute, Second, Frame Parameters timecodepar - Generates the timecode from hour, minute, second, and frame parameters. The parameters will overflow from one to the next, eg. specifying 120 seconds will output timecode as 00:02:00:00. Fractional values are also allowed.
  • Sequential sequential - The timecode increases sequentially over time.
  • Timecode Object timecodeobj - Generates the timecode from a timecode object.
  • CHOP Channels chop - Generates the timecode from a CHOP reference with some or all of the channels: negative, hour, minute, second, frame.
  • OP Reference op - Generates the timecode from an OP with a timecode Python member, eg. MoviefileinTOP_Class.

Rate rate - The timecode FPS. The timecode's max frame value is equal to rate-1. If a fractional rate is provided then the rate is rounded up to the nearest whole number and drop-frames will be calculated if enabled on the Drop Frame parameter.

Drop Frame dropframe - - Specify how to calculate drop-frames. Drop frames are used when the FPS is fractional. FPS cannot increment a fractional amount per frame so FPS is rounded to the next whole number and the accumulation of error is accommodated for by adding drop frames.

  • Off off - Drop-frames will not added.
  • Automatic auto - Drop-frames will be added to the timecode when the rate is fractional. For special rate values such as 29.97, the defined standard solution is used (ie. 2 frames added every minute, except minutes that are divisible by 10). In other cases, a general solution is used by calculating the accumulated error.

Index index - The index used to generate the timecode. Value is used in conjunction with the specified units.

Index Unit indexunit - - The index value units.

  • I indices -
  • F frames -
  • S seconds -

Timecode String timecodestr - A timecode string following the format: hh:mm:ss:ff or hh:mm:ss.ff

Frame frame - Frame component of the timecode.

Second second - Second component of the timecode.

Minute minute - Minute component of the timecode. Allows for overflow.

Hour hour - Hour component of the timecode.

Initialize init - Used in sequential mode. Initializes the timecode value.

Start start - Used in sequential mode. Starts the timecode sequential increment.

Play play - When enabled, the sequential timecode will step forward.

Timecode Object timecodeobj - A timecode object.

CHOP chop - A CHOP reference which contains some or all of the following channels: negative, hour, minute, second, frame.

OP op - An OP reference that contains a timecode Python member: eg. MoviefileinTOP_Class.

Custom Length customlength - When enabled, a custom length can be specified for the timecode. If not, the default length will be 23:59:59:ff-1 for a SMPTE timecode and 99:59:59:ff-1 otherwise.

Length length - Specifies the custom length in either samples, frames, or seconds. If it is desired to reference a Timecode Object then either tdu.Timecode().totalSeconds or tdu.Timecode().totalFrames, depending on the unit value.

Length Units lengthunits - - The unit of the custom length.

  • I samples -
  • F frames -
  • S seconds -

Cycle cycle - When enabled, the timecode value will cycle back to 00:00:00:00 upon reaching the custom length, rather than holding the last value.


Parameters - Output Page

Negative Chan negativechan - When enabled, outputs the negative channel, which is true when the timecode is negative. Always false when using SMPTE standard.

Frame Chan framechan - When enabled, outputs the frame channel.

Second Chan secondchan - When enabled, outputs the second channel.

Minute Chan minutechan - When enabled, outputs the minute channel.

Hour Chan hourchan - When enabled, outputs the hour channel.

Total Seconds Chan totalseconds - When enabled, outputs the total_seconds channel, which is the timecode converted into seconds.

Total Frames Chan totalframes - When enabled, outputs the total_frames channel, which is the timecode into frames.

Drop Frame Chan dropframechan - When enabled, outputs the drop_frame channel, which is true when the timecode is drop-frame.

FPS Chan fpschan - When enabled, outputs the fps channel.


Parameters - Common Page

Time Slice timeslice - Turning this on forces the channels to be "Time Sliced". A Time Slice is the time between the last cook frame and the current cook frame.

Scope scope - To determine which channels get affected, some CHOPs use a Scope string on the Common page.

Sample Rate Match srselect - - Handle cases where multiple input CHOPs' sample rates are different. When Resampling occurs, the curves are interpolated according to the Interpolation Method Option, or "Linear" if the Interpolate Options are not available.

  • Resample At First Input's Rate first - Use rate of first input to resample others.
  • Resample At Maximum Rate max - Resample to the highest sample rate.
  • Resample At Minimum Rate min - Resample to the lowest sample rate.
  • Error If Rates Differ err - Doesn't accept conflicting sample rates.

Export Method exportmethod - - This will determine how to connect the CHOP channel to the parameter. Refer to the Export article for more information.

  • DAT Table by Index datindex - Uses the docked DAT table and references the channel via the index of the channel in the CHOP.
  • DAT Table by Name datname - Uses the docked DAT table and references the channel via the name of the channel in the CHOP.
  • Channel Name is Path:Parameter autoname - The channel is the full destination of where to export to, such has geo1/transform1:tx.

Export Root autoexportroot - This path points to the root node where all of the paths that exporting by Channel Name is Path:Parameter are relative to.

Export Table exporttable - The DAT used to hold the export information when using the DAT Table Export Methods (See above).


Operator Inputs

  • Input 0: - Optional input CHOP with some or all of following channels: negative, hour, minute, second, frame. The input timecode value is added to the Timecode CHOP's output.

TouchDesigner Build: