Close

Scan CHOP

Summary

The Scan CHOP converts a SOP or TOP to oscilloscope or laser friendly control waves. The output is usually in the audible range and can be heard directly via an Audio Device Out CHOP, or used to drive the X and Y deflector inputs of an oscilloscope, or a laser projector recreating the imagery. The output can also be visualized through use of a Limit SOP.

A sample component found at: Op to Audio CHOP example

A sample video can be found at: Total Internal Reflection

See also: EtherDream CHOP, EtherDream DAT

PythonIcon.pngscanCHOP_Class


Parameters - Scan Page

Source OP source - - Choose the source node family.

  • TOP top - A raster image is converted to control signals by converting each pixel's location to X and Y amplitude values.
  • SOP sop - A geometry is converted to control signals by converting each point's position to X and Y amplitude values.
  • CHOP chop - A waveform is converted to control signals by converting each graph into corresponding horizontal and vertical offsets.

Sample Rate rate - Samples per second, the output sample rate.  

Swap Output swap - Reverse the X and Y channel outputs.  

X Scale xscale - Scale the x amplitude.  

Y Scale yscale - Scale the y amplitude.  

Rotate rotate - Specified in degrees, rotates the output x,y values.  

Randomize Samples randomize - Output all samples in a random order. Creates a fuzzy chaotic image on an oscilloscope.  

Output Color color - If on, r,g,b channels are created.If on, r,g,b channels are created.  

Red Scale redscale - Scale the output r channel.  

Green Scale greenscale - Scale the output g channel.  

Blue Scale bluescale - Scale the output b channel.  

Blanking Count blankingcount - In the case of SOP input, the number of black/off positions to insert between geometry primitives. In the case of TOP input, the number of black/off positions to insert between full raster scans. Color output must be enabled.In the case of SOP input, the number of black/off positions to insert between geometry primitives. In the case of TOP input, the number of black/off positions to insert between full raster scans. Color output must be enabled.  


Parameters - TOP Page

A raster image is converted to control signals by converting each pixel's location to X and Y amplitude values. The luminance is controlled by how long each sample is "drawn" on the scope. Since the output is low bandwidth, different resampling and ordering options are available for minimizing (or enhancing) flicker.

TOP top - Path to the TOP node.  

Width width - The number of columns to resample the image at.  

Height height - The number of rows to resample the image at.  

Level level - The number of brightness levels each pixel can have.  

Auto Reduce limit - Automatically reduce the number of rows and columns dynamically to keep the output frame rate at a constant level.  

Layered layered - Output the pixels in order of brightness, else they are output left to right for each row.  

Interleave interleave - - Controls the order in which rows are output to minimize flicker.

  • Sweep sweep - The rows are output in order, from top to bottom.
  • Even Odd evenodd - The rows are output in two passes, first even, then odd.
  • Max max - The rows are output in fully interleaved fashion.


Parameters - SOP Page

Every point in a SOP creates a frame-buffered, stereo audio sample, where the SOP vertex X is placed on the X channel and Y is placed on the Y channel. The oscilloscope output thus contains no aliased lines, just razor-sharp vectors.

SOP sop - Path to the SOP node.  

Vertex Order vertexorder - Output the points in the same order as the vertices of each polygon, instead of the order in which the points are defined in the geometry.  

Limit Step Size limitstep - Breakup long x,y jumps into several smaller incremental jumps.  

Step Size stepsize - The distance each x,y can change when above option enabled.  

Vertex Repeat vertexrepeat - Repeat each vertex of the each primitive multiple times.  

Camera camera - Project the geometry onto a 2D plane from this camera, otherwise, only the original x,y components of the geometry are used.  


Parameters - CHOP Page

A waveform is converted to control signals by converting each graph into corresponding horizontal and vertical offsets, reproducing the original CHOP waveform. The CHOP should not be Time Sliced, but instead have some length (example a Trail CHOP or animated Wave CHOP).

CHOP chop - Path to the CHOP node.  

Trigger trigger - The output graph will begin where its value exceeds this value. This allows for steady 'frozen' waveforms, analagous to an oscilloscope triggered sweep.  

Trigger Value triggerval -  

Trim trim -  

Trim Value trimval -  

Trim Units trimunits - Select the units to use for this parameter, Samples, Frames, or Seconds.  


Parameters - Common Page

Time Slice timeslice - Turning this on forces the channels to be "Time Sliced". A Time Slice is the time between the last cook frame and the current cook frame.  

Scope scope - To determine which channels get affected, some CHOPs use a Scope string on the Common page.  

Sample Rate Match srselect - - Handle cases where multiple input CHOPs' sample rates are different. When Resampling occurs, the curves are interpolated according to the Interpolation Method Option, or "Linear" if the Interpolate Options are not available.

  • Resample At First Input's Rate first - Use rate of first input to resample others.
  • Resample At Maximum Rate max - Resample to the highest sample rate.
  • Resample At Minimum Rate min - Resample to the lowest sample rate.
  • Error If Rates Differ err - Doesn't accept conflicting sample rates.

Export Method exportmethod - - This will determine how to connect the CHOP channel to the parameter. Refer to the Export article for more information.

  • DAT Table by Index datindex - Uses the docked DAT table and references the channel via the index of the channel in the CHOP.
  • DAT Table by Name datname - Uses the docked DAT table and references the channel via the name of the channel in the CHOP.
  • Channel Name is Path:Parameter autoname - The channel is the full destination of where to export to, such has geo1/transform1:tx.

Export Root autoexportroot - This path points to the root node where all of the paths that exporting by Channel Name is Path:Parameter are relative to.  

Export Table exporttable - The DAT used to hold the export information when using the DAT Table Export Methods (See above).  

TouchDesigner Build: