Close

Experimental:Laser Device CHOP

Summary

The Laser Device CHOP can send laser points to supported laser devices: EtherDream, Helios, and ShowNET. The devices can be connected to a laser using an ILDA cable, except in the case of ShowNET when an onboard DAC is used. Applications of the Laser Device CHOP include displaying computer-generated shape animations or other special effects of a light show. The Laser Device CHOP replaces the deprecated EtherDream CHOP and Helios DAC CHOP.

Input/Output Channels:

  • x: the point's X position, between -1 and 1.
  • y: the point's Y position, between -1 and 1.
  • r: the point's red color component, between 0 and 1.
  • g: the point's green color component, between 0 and 1.
  • b: the point's blue color component, between 0 and 1.
  • i: the point's color intensity, between 0 and 1.
  • user1: Optional user field 1. Supported by EtherDream and ShowNET.
  • user2: Optional user field 2. Supported by EtherDream and ShowNET.
  • user3: Optional user field 3. Supported by EtherDream.
  • user4: Optional user field 4. Supported by EtherDream.

Large changes in RGB values from sample-to-sample will likely be visibly correct as lasers generally can switch on-off quickly.

Blanking (all-off) occurs when the incoming RGB CHOP channels are all zero, or the Red Scale, Green Scale, and Blue Scale parameters are all zero.

See also: Laser CHOP, EtherDream DAT, Pattern CHOP

PythonIcon.pnglaserdeviceCHOP_Class


Parameters - Laser Device Page

Active active - When enabled, the CHOP will connect to the specified device and send points to it.

Type type - - Specify the type of laser device.

  • EtherDream etherdream - Send to an EtherDream device. EtherDream devices are network-based and will require an IP/port to use.
  • Helios helios - Send to a Helios device. When selected the Device menu will auto-populate with any connected devices. Scan can be pulsed to re-scan for any newly connected devices.
  • ShowNET shownet - Send to a ShowNET device. When selected the Device menu will auto-populate with any ShowNET devices on the network. For ShowNET, the device menu will update automatically.

Device device - Menu to select the named devices in the case of Helios and ShowNET.

Scan scan - Scan for Helios devices. Note: there should not be any active Helios device connections when this scan is performed, otherwise they will be closed by the scanning process.

Network Address netaddress - The network address of the EtherDream device to send the packets to. EtherDream IP can be found be polling devices on the network using the EtherDream DAT.

Network Port port - The port to send the EtherDream packets to.

Local Address localaddress - Specify an IP address to send from. This is useful when the system has multiple NICs (Network Interface Card) and you want to select which one to use.

Queue Time queuetime - Determines the queue size of the Helios/EtherDream point buffer and the corresponding time required to drain it. It is often useful to reduce this value when sending fewer points.

Queue Units queueunits - - The units of queue time.

  • I samples -
  • F frames -
  • S seconds -

X Scale xscale - Allows the input x values to be scaled by the specified factor.

Y Scale yscale - Allows the input y values to be scaled by the specified factor.

Red Scale redscale - Allows the input r values to be scaled by the specified factor.

Green Scale greenscale - Allows the input g values to be scaled by the specified factor.

Blue Scale bluescale - Allows the input b values to be scaled by the specified factor.

Intensity Scale intensityscale - Allows the input intensity values (i) to be scaled by the specified factor.


Parameters - Common Page

Time Slice timeslice - Turning this on forces the channels to be "Time Sliced". A Time Slice is the time between the last cook frame and the current cook frame.

Scope scope - To determine which channels get affected, some CHOPs use a Scope string on the Common page. See Pattern Matching.

Sample Rate Match srselect - - Handle cases where multiple input CHOPs' sample rates are different. When Resampling occurs, the curves are interpolated according to the Interpolation Method Option, or "Linear" if the Interpolate Options are not available.

  • Resample At First Input's Rate first - Use rate of first input to resample others.
  • Resample At Maximum Rate max - Resample to the highest sample rate.
  • Resample At Minimum Rate min - Resample to the lowest sample rate.
  • Error If Rates Differ err - Doesn't accept conflicting sample rates.

Export Method exportmethod - - This will determine how to connect the CHOP channel to the parameter. Refer to the Export article for more information.

  • DAT Table by Index datindex - Uses the docked DAT table and references the channel via the index of the channel in the CHOP.
  • DAT Table by Name datname - Uses the docked DAT table and references the channel via the name of the channel in the CHOP.
  • Channel Name is Path:Parameter autoname - The channel is the full destination of where to export to, such has geo1/transform1:tx.

Export Root autoexportroot - This path points to the root node where all of the paths that exporting by Channel Name is Path:Parameter are relative to.

Export Table exporttable - The DAT used to hold the export information when using the DAT Table Export Methods (See above).


Operator Inputs

  • Input 0: -