Close

Audio Device In CHOP

Summary

The Audio Device In CHOP receives audio from any of the attached audio input devices using DirectSound or ASIO. It always outputs time sliced audio data. If you want to record the data, use a Record CHOP.

PythonIcon.pngaudiodeviceinCHOP_Class


Parameters - Audio Device In Page

Active active - Turns the audio input on or off.  

Driver driver - - Select between DirectSound and ASIO drivers.

  • DirectSound directsound - The default Windows audio driver (a.k.a. WDM).
  • ASIO asio - Low-latency drivers which usually come from the hardware's manufacturer.
  • DataPath (RGBEASY) datapath -

Device device - A menu of available audio devices to receive input from. Selecting default sets the audio device to that which is selected in Windows Control Panel>Sounds and Audio Devices>Audio>Sound Recording.  

Inputs inputs - When Driver is set to ASIO, this parameter lets you pick which input channels to use.  

Format format - - Selects mono, stereo, or multi-channel. Also determines how many channels are created 1(mono) or 2(stereo left and stereo right) etc.

  • Mono mono -
  • Stereo stereo -
  • Multi-Channel multichannel -

Rate rate - Audio input sample rate expressed in samples per second.  

Buffer Length bufferlength - The size of the input buffer, will effect latency. The larger the buffer the more latency is introduced.  


Parameters - Input 1 Page

Front Left frontleft -  

Front Right frontright -  

Front Center frontcenter -  

Low Frequency lowfrequency -  

Back Left backleft -  

Back Right backright -  

Front Left of Center frontleftcenter -  

Front Right of Center frontrightcenter -  

Back Center backcenter -  


Parameters - Input 2 Page

Side Left sideleft -  

Side Right sideright -  

Top Center topcenter -  

Top Front Left topfrontleft -  

Top Front Center topfrontcenter -  

Top Front Right topfrontright -  

Top Back Left topbackleft -  

Top Back Center topbackcenter -  

Top Back Right topbackright -  


Parameters - Common Page

Time Slice timeslice - Turning this on forces the channels to be "Time Sliced". A Time Slice is the time between the last cook frame and the current cook frame.  

Scope scope - To determine which channels get affected, some CHOPs use a Scope string on the Common page.  

Sample Rate Match srselect - - Handle cases where multiple input CHOPs' sample rates are different. When Resampling occurs, the curves are interpolated according to the Interpolation Method Option, or "Linear" if the Interpolate Options are not available.

  • Resample At First Input's Rate first - Use rate of first input to resample others.
  • Resample At Maximum Rate max - Resample to the highest sample rate.
  • Resample At Minimum Rate min - Resample to the lowest sample rate.
  • Error If Rates Differ err - Doesn't accept conflicting sample rates.

Export Method exportmethod - - This will determine how to connect the CHOP channel to the parameter. Refer to the Export article for more information.

  • DAT Table by Index datindex - Uses the docked DAT table and references the channel via the index of the channel in the CHOP.
  • DAT Table by Name datname - Uses the docked DAT table and references the channel via the name of the channel in the CHOP.
  • Channel Name is Path:Parameter autoname - The channel is the full destination of where to export to, such has geo1/transform1:tx.

Export Root autoexportroot - This path points to the root node where all of the paths that exporting by Channel Name is Path:Parameter are relative to.  

Export Table exporttable - The DAT used to hold the export information when using the DAT Table Export Methods (See above).  

TouchDesigner Build: