Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

Resolved: KantanMapper error messages, and gives lag

Report bugs so we can squash them!

Resolved: KantanMapper error messages, and gives lag

Postby VJGjert » Sun Apr 14, 2019 4:25 pm

Hi,
KantanMapper is giving me a hard time, and I wonder if anybody else have met the same problem.
When I start a preset with KantanMapper inside I get a long list of errors and warnings. I do thereafter have output to projector, but the program lags, and I get a delay of about a second from touching a control until I get a reaction on the screen.
I have added an example .toe with just the default startup file and a KantanMapper, and a text file with the error messages.
I run Windows 10 Home (updated - ver 1809, OS-bulid 17763.437) on an Acer Predator laptop, prosessor: i7-7700HQ, RAM: 32 GB, screencard: GeForce GTX 1080 Ti (Updated driver - ver 425.31), TouchDesigner ver 2018.27910
Any help would be appreciated.
Regards,
Gjert
Attachments
Error_messages.txt
(28.16 KiB) Downloaded 18 times
KantanMapper_test.toe
(292.72 KiB) Downloaded 18 times
VJGjert
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:15 am

Re: KantanMapper gives error messages on startup, and gives

Postby snaut » Mon Apr 15, 2019 11:39 am

Hi Gjert,

I tried to replicate your issues on my machine with your file and the same build but so far no luck.

The Messages you are getting on startup are a combination of Messages, Warnings and Errors. You can look for Errors specifically by ticking off the Messages box in the Startup Errors Dialog:

StartupErrors.jpg
StartupErrors.jpg (133.39 KiB) Viewed 811 times


To track this down further, could you check the performance monitor and see what is causing the long cook times? Go to Dialogs->Performance Monitor and enter a number like 100 into the Frame Trigger field. Now click analyze and then try to use a control. Please then share the output of the performance monitor and I'll be able to track that a bit better,

Best
Markus
User avatar
snaut
Staff
 
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: KantanMapper gives error messages on startup, and gives

Postby VJGjert » Mon Apr 15, 2019 8:27 pm

Hi, thanks Marcus!
I had to go down to 11 to get something in Performance monitor. I have added the save.
And I'm afraid was not very precise. The lag appears when I add Kantan mapper to my performance setup, which is a basic 8 channel video-mixer. Visually I can see no lag when changing parameters in the .toe I uploaded above.
But as the warnings and messages (nothing under error messages) are the same when I start both presets, I was hoping to solve it from here, without starting a major debugging operation.
Regards,
Gjert
Attachments
stat.txt
(24.83 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
VJGjert
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:15 am

Re: KantanMapper gives error messages on startup, and gives

Postby VJGjert » Tue Apr 16, 2019 4:13 am

For reference, this is my video-mixer .toe, with a dump from the performance monitor. Its kind of a clumsy setup, and has for years been on the why-fix-something-that-works list. What can I say, life has been interesting...
Anyway, the warnings on startup are the same, so I hope this can help.
Regards,
Gjert
Attachments
Performance analysis.txt
(188.24 KiB) Downloaded 17 times
Videomixer.1.toe
(323.65 KiB) Downloaded 18 times
VJGjert
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:15 am

Re: KantanMapper gives error messages on startup, and gives

Postby snaut » Tue Apr 16, 2019 12:14 pm

Hey Gjert,

hm, the 1.1 sec for Flushing GPU Commands and Changing Graphics Context is extreme. It could point to an issue with perhaps the optimus graphics.

Have you tried forcing Windows to use the Nvidia card in the Nvidia Control Panel?
Also does this happen when you have you videomixer window open as well as the Kantan Mapper window or even if you would try to control kantanmapper out of the container node itself?

Best
Markus
User avatar
snaut
Staff
 
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: KantanMapper gives error messages on startup, and gives

Postby VJGjert » Tue Apr 16, 2019 7:25 pm

Ok, thanks again!
I may be wrong about this but I believe the Acer Predator (pt715-51) has no secondary Intel screen card. At least I can find none in the system. I'm not quite sure if/ how that would affect the optimus.
I tried seting TD to use the NVIDIA card, under 3D-configuration in the NVIDIA control panel, but I still have the same lag. In the list there are a lot of windows programs that can be set to use NVIDIA, but it does not seem right. Is there any particular part of Windows I should change?
The lag appears when I work in performance mode, which does make KantanMapper draw an image on top of my original performance secondary output, but also when I work in designer mode with output from KantanMapper, and I use the controls from the containers. The lag appears when I add output from Kantan. I'm not quite sure it that covers your question? I set KantanMapper to output, and then I leave its controls alone.
Regards, Gjert
VJGjert
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:15 am

Re: KantanMapper gives error messages on startup, and gives

Postby ben » Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:44 am

Recommend trying to turn off vsync in Nvidia driver setting as the multiple windows could be fighting over vsync. This started happening last year after a Windows update, but is usually more common on Optimus laptops, can still happen on others.

Worth a shot.
User avatar
ben
Staff
 
Posts: 2508
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: KantanMapper gives error messages on startup, and gives

Postby VJGjert » Wed Apr 17, 2019 5:53 pm

Thanks. I turned vsync of globally in nvidia control panel, but that does not make any difference.

I have made a more exact description of when the problem appears, step by step. I have used my video-mixer.toe for this, as the problem is more obvious here:

1. The warnings and messages appears immediately after I add KantanMapper to the project, save, close and reopen it. At this point I have no visual lag when switching banks and using the sliders in the Elek comp window.
2. I then make a rectangle in KantanMapper (save and reopen.) Same messages, and no visual lag.
3. I then apply a texture (/Elek/null1) to the rectangle, without yet making the texture active. I immediately have lag.
4. I save and reopen. The lag persists, but immediately disappears when I delete the text from the texture-field in KantanMapper.

During the steps above I did not at any time enter perform mode, and I have not asked KantanMapper to write anything. I did not have a secondary output connected to the laptop. It seems to be when KantanMapper receives a texture the lag appears.

Regards,
Gjert
(This is is so Saturn conjunct Pluto, btw :D )
VJGjert
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:15 am

Re: KantanMapper gives error messages on startup, and gives

Postby snaut » Wed Apr 17, 2019 6:29 pm

Hi Gjert,

that is rather puzzling.
I'm imagining the resolution specified in Kantan is default or something regular like 1920x1080?

Two further things to try out: after adding the texture, could you click on the below "Edit Texture" button and in the texture edit window change the Filter setting from Mipmap to Linear?

As another test, since I can't reproduce the issue here, could you try installing the latest experimental and test your setup there? You can install a version in parallel by following these instructions: https://docs.derivative.ca/Install_Touc ... er#Windows

Best
Markus
User avatar
snaut
Staff
 
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: KantanMapper gives error messages on startup, and gives

Postby VJGjert » Thu Apr 18, 2019 6:21 pm

Thanks again for your help and suggestions, I do very much appreciate it!

In the video-mixer and in most of the tests I've been using 1920x1080, while in some of the tests I've been using the default resolution.

I've had some help from a more qualified friend today, who also finds this puzzling. And peculiar, and strange.
Here's what we've tried:
- Set filter in KantanMapper/Edit texture to linear. No change.
- Removed nvidia drivers and remnants thereof with DDU, and reinstalled newest driver. No change.
- Removed TD and reinstalled. No change.
- Removed TD and reinstalled latest experimental build. Same lag, but new warnings and messages on startup. My video-mixer also has some errors now. I've split them between errors, warnings and messages, and uploaded the text from startup of both the default file with KantanMapper, and the video-mixer. I've also uploaded a save from Performance Monitor in the Video-mixer.
- We've also installed TD on his laptop, and opened the video-mixer .toe there. The problem does not reproduce.

So it seems the problem is local to my pc. I'll try a clean reinstall of windows, as a last option, before I sit down under a tree and aspire towards a more detached relation to this pc...
Regards,
Gjert
Attachments
Default file_Messages.txt
(32.69 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
Videomixer_Warnings.txt
(4.23 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
Videomixer_Stat.txt
(99.16 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
Videomixer_Errors.txt
(1.94 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
Default file_Warnings.txt
(6.08 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
VJGjert
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:15 am

Next

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests