Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

KantanMapper v2 - an approach to simple mapping

Share your components here. First one to 100 wins!

Re: MottoKantan - an approach to simple mapping

Postby chrk120 » Sun Nov 12, 2017 11:53 pm

Always comes with errors inside, no idea what's happening
chrk120
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 6:07 pm

Re: KantanMapper v2 - an approach to simple mapping

Postby snaut » Mon Nov 13, 2017 4:19 pm

Hey,

there is an update to KantanMapper int he pipeline that addresses these startup errors. It's taking a bit longer than planned.

Best
Markus
User avatar
snaut
Staff
 
Posts: 896
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: KantanMapper v2 - an approach to simple mapping

Postby tolchxxx » Thu May 17, 2018 10:39 am

Hello good day, KantanMapper v2, has the option to map strips leds as resolume for example?

I leave a video: https://youtu.be/4Hy3Zn-X6_g?t=6m3s

Thank you
tolchxxx
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:12 am

Re: KantanMapper v2 - an approach to simple mapping

Postby MXZEHN » Mon Jul 02, 2018 8:30 am

Hello Markus,
I have a little problem with Kantan on win10, 64bit - build2018.23760
When I drag textures to apply them to shapes, it works only sometimes.
Especially it works when i try it with 256x256 constants.
With most other drags, it shows the path but doesn't apply the texture.
When i close the Kantan Window and open it again, i can see that the path is back to empty or back to the last successful drag. Same is true if I just write the path in the field.
It just doesnt seem to stick.

To be more precise... Once the "bug" appears, behaviour is as follows:
I select the shape, drag the texture into the path window, turn it on...
Is not visible. I select another Shape, then go back select the original shape and the path field is empty again. It doesn't matter then howoften i repeat this action, the texture field will always be empty when i return to the shape.

Everything behaves good again, when i restart touch.
Not sure what starts this behaviour

cheers
Stefan
_________________________________________________
MXZEHN - Digital Scenography
http://www.mxzehn.de
stefan.kraus@mxzehn.de
+49 179 5265105
MXZEHN
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 12:49 pm

Re: KantanMapper v2 - an approach to simple mapping

Postby L05 » Wed Oct 17, 2018 5:37 pm

I'm also experiencing similar problems. Restarting gets the shapes to keep their texture path, but the textures don't appear. I'm currently unable to use KantanMapper in this state. :(

I'm on Windows Build 2018.26450.

MXZEHN wrote:Hello Markus,
I have a little problem with Kantan on win10, 64bit - build2018.23760
When I drag textures to apply them to shapes, it works only sometimes.
Especially it works when i try it with 256x256 constants.
With most other drags, it shows the path but doesn't apply the texture.
When i close the Kantan Window and open it again, i can see that the path is back to empty or back to the last successful drag. Same is true if I just write the path in the field.
It just doesnt seem to stick.

To be more precise... Once the "bug" appears, behaviour is as follows:
I select the shape, drag the texture into the path window, turn it on...
Is not visible. I select another Shape, then go back select the original shape and the path field is empty again. It doesn't matter then howoften i repeat this action, the texture field will always be empty when i return to the shape.

Everything behaves good again, when i restart touch.
Not sure what starts this behaviour

cheers
Stefan
User avatar
L05
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:36 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: KantanMapper v2 - an approach to simple mapping

Postby snaut » Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:33 pm

Could you share a file that is in this state with me?

Cheers
Markus
User avatar
snaut
Staff
 
Posts: 896
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: KantanMapper v2 - an approach to simple mapping

Postby nettoyeur » Thu Nov 29, 2018 11:51 am

Hey Markus, here's a small but maybe useful addition:

I got an optimization of ~55% less cooking time (from 0.65 msec to 0.29 msec, with the kantanmapper viewer pane off, in build 2018.27300) when I change the following:

1)
Under
Code: Select all
kantanMapper/ui/main/canvas
set Passive parameter of the info1 and info2 CHOPs to On - this stops some unneeded cooking when UI is not visible.

2)
Under
Code: Select all
kantanMapper/ui/main/canvas
set the null1 CHOP cooking to Selective.
(this stops unneeded cooking in kantanMapper/project/onScreen)

You can judge better if these changes are indeed progress or a bad hack - but as the Kantanmapper is usually only edited during development and not during performance, I think the selective cooking can't cause any trouble in this case.

cheers Idzard
Idzard Kwadijk | freelance TouchDesigner consultant | IdzArd.com
Checkout ChopChopChop.org - the TouchDesigner marketplace!
nettoyeur
 
Posts: 1140
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:00 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: KantanMapper v2 - an approach to simple mapping

Postby ajk48n » Fri Nov 30, 2018 2:41 am

Hey Nettoyeur,

That looks similar to a bug I recently found, with a similar fix:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=13386

Looks like the next version should have some great performance improvements!
ajk48n
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 3:48 am
Location: Sydney

Re: KantanMapper v2 - an approach to simple mapping

Postby ajk48n » Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:14 am

Hi there,

I found a bug in the way that Kantan sorts the transparency of its intertal geometry when rendering its final image.

In my case I have 2 images mappe din Kantan. One small image capture that is placed on top of a noisy background. The small image capture is a .png file that has transparency.

When the output of Kantan is comosited on top of a bright background, the background bleeds through the transparent edge of the png file, even through the bright background should be covered up by the Kantan background image.

This can be fixed by setting the Order-Independent Transparency property to ON in /kantan/project/render1

Now according to the docs, this option means that more render passes will need to happen, which in theory could slow things down. But perhaps it would be good to have this referenced as an option in the main Kantan parameters as it can be necessary in some situations.

I've attached some pictures to show what I mean. Have a look at the bright pink outline around the edge of the smaller image. This pink should be covered up by the noise texture.
Attachments
Properties.jpg
Properties.jpg (101.06 KiB) Viewed 1606 times
Alpha-correct.jpg
Alpha-correct.jpg (69.39 KiB) Viewed 1606 times
Alpha-bleed.jpg
Alpha-bleed.jpg (69.8 KiB) Viewed 1606 times
ajk48n
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 3:48 am
Location: Sydney

Re: KantanMapper v2 - an approach to simple mapping

Postby dim_111 » Sat Jan 12, 2019 12:40 am

Great tool, thanks!
It would be nice to have the ability to edit RGB values for each slice and the group.
Thank you!
dim_111
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 3:18 am

PreviousNext

Return to Shared .tox Components

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests