Page 1 of 7

Intel RealSense

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2014 11:18 pm
by CutMod
I was at Intel's Los Angeles DevLab/Hackathon for RealSense last week and got to take home one of the DevKits. Touch can access the depth camera feed directly with VideoDeviceIn TOP. Here's a little demo of what I figured out during the hackathon (after failing to sort out receiving tracking data from Processing and changing directions... port binding follies) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MKTsmBIrvRI

When it came time to present our hack-jobs, I pitched mine as interactive signage for storefronts and special event brand activation (https://twitter.com/bemyapp/status/530185756266876928) and won the grand prize! No C# required! :D The demo video is running on the computer I won: Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro with 2GHz i7, 8GB RAM Intel HD Graphics 4400. Touch runs surprisingly smoothly on this laptop/tablet hybrid machine.

I'm eager to use the actual tracking data eventually, but the depth cam alone is pretty cool for now. The SDK demos (backdrop removal, facial expression tracking, etc) are pretty cool and lead me to believe there is a lot of potential with this technology. Hoping for a RealSense CHOP in the near future...

_Will

Re: Intel RealSense

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:49 am
by barakooda
Hi Will,
Thanks for sharing.

Re: Intel RealSense

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 12:21 pm
by malcolm
Good work! Thanks for sharing with us.

Re: Intel RealSense

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 2:14 pm
by cod65
Inspiring!

Re: Intel RealSense

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 8:14 am
by CutMod
I've had some requests to upload the .toe file, so here it is.
Also, I hear that Intel finally sent a DevKit to Derivative HQ. Any word on eventual RealSense OPs? Would be happy to help test them :geek:

_Will

http://facebook.com/CutMod
http://youtube.com/CutMod
http://instagram.com/CutMod

Re: Intel RealSense

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2015 9:00 am
by zcalvin
Thanks for the upload. Realsense OP's would be great.

Re: Intel RealSense

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 3:18 am
by CutMod
I'm testing out the new RealSense CHOP in build 50500. After I got all my drivers up to date (a re-registration and 4 separate downloads from Intel) I was getting data! I was easily able to instance geometry on my hands/face. :D https://instagram.com/p/35v53fD_sn/

Then I tried to grab the video stream from the RealSense to overlay geometry on video. Adding a Video Device In TOP caused a pop-up error dialog "CoInitialization Error" and then selecting the RealSense RGB feed in the TOP's device dropdown crashed Touch... I started a new project with Video Device In first, then tried adding RealSense CHOP. No crash, but no data in CHOP. Closed. Un/Re-plugged device. New Project. Start with CHOP, still no data. Restart computer (Retina MacBook Pro) Open Touch, no data. Un/Re-plug, re-open touch, now there's data again... I think the device hadn't fully enumerated yet after the reboot, before Touch opened. Is there a reason that the RealSense device needs to be plugged in before starting Touch or is that a bug? Same for using RealSense CHOP and Video Device In TOP concurrently?

Re: Intel RealSense

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 11:36 am
by malcolm
We plan to add a RealSense TOP which will avoid the need to use it with the Video Device In TOP. We'll look into this issue though.

Re: Intel RealSense

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 5:18 pm
by SpamLicker
Is anybody else getting a really slow frame rate whilst using the RealSense CHOP or TOP? I have an Intel 4770K with an Nvidia 970 and it's slowing my system down to 17 FPS. Should it be doing this?

Re: Intel RealSense

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 5:26 pm
by malcolm
Which build are you using? We posted a new one yesterday with the TOP running much faster.