Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

Datapath Fx4 alternative

Discuss graphics hardware, computer hardware, and input/output devices to use with TouchDesigner

Datapath Fx4 alternative

Postby idfx » Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:42 pm

Hi,
I'm working on a 3x3 display wall. All screens are 1920x1080, so total resolution is 5760x3240. The idea is to use 3 outputs of a Quadro P5000 @5760x1080 to connect 3 Datapath Fx4 (using only 3 of the 4 outputs on each). I know Datapath's products are very well regarded in the industry. However, I'm wondering if anyone knows or has tried a more cost effective solution.
Also, if anyone has any comments or recommendations regarding this setup, they are very much appreciated! :D
Thank you!
idfx
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 1:39 pm

Re: Datapath Fx4 alternative

Postby dogboy23 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:29 am

Hey man...

You could try these, very high on my shopping list...

https://www.aja.com/products/mini-converters/ha5-4k

They do a 1080p@60 quad-split with what I assume is minimal latency. You would need 4x SDI-HDMI adapters to go back to HDMI at the telly though.

I don't own one [yet] but I've heard good things so far... maybe someone who uses them can comment?

Nick
dogboy23
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 11:10 am
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Datapath Fx4 alternative

Postby dogboy23 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:30 am

Hmmm, not so sure about getting the DP to HDMI though... it might all be a bit adapter-happy

Nick
dogboy23
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 11:10 am
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Datapath Fx4 alternative

Postby landonth » Fri Sep 22, 2017 7:16 pm

If you have a DisplayPort output the most cost-effective solution is to use a Multi Stream Transport (MST) hub.

I'd recommend Startech for the brand but there are several manufacturers of MST hubs. You just need a DisplayPort 1.2 compatible GPU, the display devices you output to only need DisplayPort 1.1.

More info on MST:
https://blog.startech.com/post/connecti ... s-for-you/

You'll want to get three of these (might be even cheaper elsewhere) :
https://www.startech.com/AV/Displayport ... MSTDP123DP

And this is a 4-port version
https://www.startech.com/AV/Displayport ... MSTDP124DP

There are some that have HDMI outs as well, (so you don't need adapters to the displays) but i think you have to get those from another manufacturer.
User avatar
landonth
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 11:15 pm

Re: Datapath Fx4 alternative

Postby landonth » Fri Sep 22, 2017 7:33 pm

Oh, one more thing is if your displays support DisplayPort 1.2 and have DP in and DP out ports then you may not need the hub at all, you can just daisy chain the displays. I'm not sure if this presents any perceptible latency so if you need perfect frame lock (you are using a Quadro) proceed with caution on that solution.

But you can't beat the cost! --all you'd have to buy are ~9 DisplayPort cables.
User avatar
landonth
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 11:15 pm

Re: Datapath Fx4 alternative

Postby elburz » Sat Sep 23, 2017 4:12 am

^ We've used daisy chaining a bunch of times on large video walls, helps cut down the cost of splitters and cabling. Can send a 4k signal to the first screen, then feed it into the next 3 screens, and have each one take a 1080p quadrant. Works with framelock both hardware and software.
--
Elburz Sorkhabi
Creative + Technology
nVoid Art-Tech Limited
http://nvoid.com
elburz
 
Posts: 1996
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 6:55 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Datapath Fx4 alternative

Postby bwood » Mon Sep 25, 2017 10:27 am

I attempted to use this MST hub a few weeks ago (https://www.accellcables.com/products/d ... ay-mst-hub) and discovered that once everything was connected, it would only allow me to use the same number of outputs that the GPU supported to begin with. So 4 outputs instead of the 6 I was hoping for. I was trying to use it with a GTX 1080Ti though..is this another one of those quadro / gtx differences?

Also, when daisy-chaining like you are talking about, how does the PC see those monitors? Does it only see the first screen in the chain, the one you are sending the 4k signal?
bwood
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Datapath Fx4 alternative

Postby elburz » Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:11 am

I'm not familiar with the hubs. The daisy chaining we've used was the DP1.2 daisy chain video wall features built into the screens (NEC ones in this case). It acted similar to a datapath, we would send a single 4k out, and the screens were grouped in fours so that each one would take a 1920x1080 quadrant of the 4k. This grouping and settings was happening on the screen side.
--
Elburz Sorkhabi
Creative + Technology
nVoid Art-Tech Limited
http://nvoid.com
elburz
 
Posts: 1996
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 6:55 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Datapath Fx4 alternative

Postby dogboy23 » Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:28 am

you should be good for more than 4 displays on a quadro via MST, but you are limited to 4 displays on geforce GPUs

Nick
dogboy23
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 11:10 am
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Datapath Fx4 alternative

Postby avdialogue » Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:51 pm

elburz wrote:I'm not familiar with the hubs. The daisy chaining we've used was the DP1.2 daisy chain video wall features built into the screens (NEC ones in this case). It acted similar to a datapath, we would send a single 4k out, and the screens were grouped in fours so that each one would take a 1920x1080 quadrant of the 4k. This grouping and settings was happening on the screen side.


This sounds like the perfect solution for someone who doesn't already own screens. Do you remember which model of NEC display it was? Do you know any other brands that produce large displays with daisy chaining DP inputs?

Thanks.
avdialogue
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 4:59 pm

Next

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests