Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

Rift + touch

Discuss graphics hardware, computer hardware, and input/output devices to use with TouchDesigner

Rift + touch

Postby xzQuinn » Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:54 am

new to occulus

dose this product work with TouchDesigner?
https://www.oculus.com/rift/
if not are there plans to incorporate it?
I see TD documentation requires DK2
which the occulus website gives as sold out
https://www3.oculus.com/en-us/dk2/
User avatar
xzQuinn
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:05 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Rift + touch

Postby nettoyeur » Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:30 pm

Hey Andrew,

yes the Oculus Rift is fully supported.
DK2 was the second developers edition, these days there is only the consumers version (CV1) for sale, but they both work in TD.
Also the Touch controllers are fully supported in 099 in the Oculus Rift CHOP.

here's a basic example to control some geometry with the touch controllers:
https://www.derivative.ca/Forum/viewtop ... 87&p=37012

PS: my personal 2cts - if you are still orienting which VR set to buy, after having developed a lot for both platforms, my strong preference is the Vive, as roomscale VR is much more interesting than sitting behind a computer and only being able to move your head & hands...also Vive platform is a lot more open and not owned by facebook.
Idzard Kwadijk | freelance TouchDesigner consultant | LinkedIn
nettoyeur
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:00 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: Rift + touch

Postby xzQuinn » Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:20 pm

thanks for your quick reply
my laptop (geforce 880m) not up to it, but the oculus setup and demos ran ok,
...slowly...new PC coming soon...
in the file you attached, I'm getting an error with the oculusrift TOP
"oculus SKD failed to create textures for display"
would this be my hardware or is there more software installation required?
thanks for your help
User avatar
xzQuinn
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:05 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Rift + touch

Postby malcolm » Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:24 pm

This is likely because the laptop has optimus (extra Intel GPU), which isn't really supported for VR.
User avatar
malcolm
Staff
 
Posts: 3873
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:11 am

Re: Rift + touch

Postby xzQuinn » Mon Sep 11, 2017 4:52 pm

thanks malcom
new PC coming nvidia geforce1070
User avatar
xzQuinn
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:05 pm
Location: Italy


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests