Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

PixelPusher

General discussion about anything TouchDesigner

Re: PixelPusher

Postby snaut » Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:14 pm

Hi Adam,

what's the problem you are running into? Looked at your file it seems everything is setup correctly...
I have a pixelpusher on the way so will be trying to connect once it reaches my desk..

cheers
Markus
User avatar
snaut
Staff
 
Posts: 901
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: PixelPusher

Postby pixelux » Tue Oct 06, 2015 9:23 am

Hello,

I'm planning to set a system made of 5 pixel pusher with 4 strips (betterpixel 5m/360pixels) on each so a total of 20 strips. (7200 pixels about 43 universes)
I will go thru the artnet bridge
After reading this post, I'm a bit confuse if it is working or not .
Can someone confirm it is possible to drive more than one universe with the pixel pusher

many thanks
Xavier G.
User avatar
pixelux
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:10 pm
Location: Digne les bains

Re: PixelPusher

Postby harveymoon » Sun Jul 14, 2019 2:07 pm

Anyone have a pixelpusher update?

It's easy to forget about posting your solution back on the forum, would really appreciate if anyone ever got this working to share the info.

The documentation for the pixelpusher-artnet bridge is totally nonexistent and their forum is no good. I tried the TOE file on this thread and couldn't get it to work with the artnet bridge, no contact in the art-net dat.

Thanks!
harveymoon
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 8:42 pm

Re: PixelPusher

Postby matthewwachter » Mon Jul 15, 2019 1:06 pm

Hey Harvey,

I've pretty much given up on these controllers. I use to recommend them to people that plan to use them with LED Lab or Processing in non-critical projects but I have a really hard time trusting these devices to work.

These have a lot of issues and don't support ArtNet natively which is unfortunate. Sucks to have to install Java JRE just to run a bridge application. Also, these don't support the ArtNet Sync packet which is pretty important if you care about smooth playback or syncing with a camera shutter.

The ArtNet Bridge is difficult to get working and has a hard time dealing with multiple NICs or multiple IP address on the same NIC. It also matters a lot how you turn everything on. I think the ArtNet Bridge needs to see the PixelPusher when it starts up. This is the pattern that I've had the most success with:

PixelPusher -> ArtNet Bridge -> ArtNet output from TD.

Still, I've had pretty intermittent success with getting these to work. Sometimes it connects first try, other times it takes 3 or 4 reboots or maybe just doesn't ever connect. Pretty frustrating to use.



The Advatek Pixlite is the same price and is a much more professional product:

https://www.advateklights.com/shop/pixl ... oller.html


Advatek is a great company and the PixLite product line is easy to set up and has some nice safety features like fuses. At this point I think I've given away all the PixelPushers I had.
matthewwachter
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 3:18 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: PixelPusher

Postby FaustoB » Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:30 pm

I can vouch for Advatek as well, I have used many times, it's relatively easy to set up and I've never had a problem with it. Their customer support is responsive and they are nice people too.

I have the PixLite 16 MkII Control Board, and I'm very happy with it. This controller can be set up in different ways depending on your set up and type of LED, and on top allowing you to control LED strips, it has also 4x universe ports that you can use to send data to moving lights, dimmers etc...
FaustoB
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 8:33 am
Location: Sydney, NSW

Re: PixelPusher

Postby ahlynsky » Tue Jul 16, 2019 10:30 am

The pixel pushers have TI line driver/buffers in them that makes it possible to run much longer cable runs before the LEDs. Careful simply subbing them out for the Advatek Pixlight. I know that the Long Range Receiver v2 (or 1.2 or whatever, the only ones they sell now) they added output buffers (possibly on my request :D ). I don't think the regular Pixlights have them yet.
ahlynsky
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 10:46 am

Re: PixelPusher

Postby harveymoon » Wed Jul 17, 2019 3:52 pm

ah thanks everyone. I decided to try the Pixlight and ill chime back in about how it goes.

I had cold feet when I started getting into the java stuff and only got it working using a processing syphon passthrough, not super ideal.

Thanks!
harveymoon
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 8:42 pm

Re: PixelPusher

Postby mmake » Sat Jul 20, 2019 5:49 am

Hi everyone,

I’m thinking about going with Pixlite too and was wondering how do you guys build the power for these? Do i get Meanwell bricks (with correct values) or is there some recommended options? I was going to go with Enttec pixel series stuff but i’ve seen Touchdesigner people say good things about these and they are super budget friendly. Just not sure about the powering yet...

I have a couple of small installations with Fadecandy boards. Other one also with passthrough Syphon/Processing patch. I want to scale up a little. Thanks for the great info!
User avatar
mmake
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:34 pm
Location: Tampere, Finland

Re: PixelPusher

Postby FaustoB » Sat Jul 20, 2019 8:29 pm

Regarding the power distribution to your LED installation, the topic is quite broad and personally I don't feel in the position to provide specific advice since there are way too many variables to consider, for example:
# LED voltage (24v, 12v, 5v...)
# size of each LED pixel
# number of pixels per metre
# RGB or RGBW pixels
# overall installation layout
# distance between LED and power source/s
# indoor vs outdoor installation
# local/state regulations

all these parameters, among many others, will affect how you will have to power up your installation safely, and without voltage dropping (i.e. you don't want to have the LEDs at the end of your installation to be one third of the brightness of the ones at the beginning).

Believe it or not, I found a lot of informations on sites like this one: https://www.doityourselfchristmas.com/w ... _of_Pixels
I'm not into christmas lights, and even less into the whole christmas thing, but I found a lot of useful informations in this wiki documentation.
If you scroll down to the end of the page you will find more useful links.

My advice is to do a lot of research, don't underestimate the power distribution of large LED installations, and put all the safety elements in place (like fuses etc..).
If still in doubt, consider talking to a professional electrician. You might have to do that anyway to get your installation approved, tagged and tested before installing it.

In other words, experimenting with 1x or 2x 5m RGB LED strips is quite straight forward and relatively safe, dealing with 10x or 20x or more 5m RGB LED strips is a completely different approach, both in terms of power and data distribution.

I don't want to discourage you, I'm just giving you the heads up that it's definitely doable, but you'll have a fair bit of research and testing to do.
FaustoB
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 8:33 am
Location: Sydney, NSW

Previous

Return to General TouchDesigner Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests