Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

RESOLVED: count CHOP randomly don't reset

General discussion about anything TouchDesigner

RESOLVED: count CHOP randomly don't reset

Postby flashbacker » Fri Jul 12, 2019 8:32 am

Hi,

I'm building this project for a theatre play where I have different bases for different scenes of the play.
I'm calling the bases one after another depending on the setlist, enabling to cook only the bases i'm using.
When I call a new base, right after enabling the cooking, I run a script contained in the base to initialize some values.
I have a random problem with counts CHOP which sometimes doesn't get initialized and stay blank, causing error on the dependent operators because the output is undiffined (noneType).

Since it is random I don't know how to fix it (maybe a problem of order of operations sometime?)
To initialize the counts I use:
Code: Select all
op("counter1").par.resetvalue = 0
op("counter1").par.resetpulse.pulse()


Any thoughts on how I could improve this would be welcome

thanks!
flashbacker
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2017 3:13 pm

Re: count CHOP randomly don't reset

Postby FaustoB » Wed Jul 17, 2019 11:14 pm

Hi
I have just tested your script, and it works totally fine, as expected.
I wasn't able to replicate the issue you are experiencing.
FaustoB
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 8:33 am
Location: Sydney, NSW

Re: count CHOP randomly don't reset

Postby selina » Thu Jul 18, 2019 3:48 pm

I think you'll need to post your .toe file for reproducing the problem. It seems possible that the script isn't executed for some reason, maybe you can check if that is the case and debug from there?

I see you did mention enable/disable cooking. There's a pulse related bug that will be fixed in the next official - viewtopic.php?f=12&t=19622 - so that could also be the issue. We should have an official posted in the next few days.
User avatar
selina
Staff
 
Posts: 853
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:15 am

Re: count CHOP randomly don't reset

Postby flashbacker » Thu Jul 25, 2019 4:44 am

thanks selina

I think it might be a problem from my side.
Even if the good values were selected in the select DAT, they were not pushed by default towards the moviefilein as this action was scripted in "onvaluechange"

my mistake :)
flashbacker
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2017 3:13 pm


Return to General TouchDesigner Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests