Fluids Berlin Project on a Mac?

Hey,

Im going through this wonderful tutorial Noah Norman posted and having some trouble getting the TouchFluids Berlin project working on my mac. This looks like the error. Im new to GLSL and don’t even know how to approach solving this.

"

Pixel Shader Compile Results:
ERROR: 0:165: Argument 3 to function ‘textureOffset’ must be a constant expression
ERROR: 0:166: Argument 3 to function ‘textureOffset’ must be a constant expression
ERROR: 0:167: Argument 3 to function ‘textureOffset’ must be a constant expression
ERROR: 0:168: Argument 3 to function ‘textureOffset’ must be a constant expression
ERROR: 0:171: Argument 3 to function ‘textureOffset’ must be a constant expression
ERROR: 0:173: Use of undeclared identifier ‘pL’
ERROR: 0:173: Use of undeclared identifier ‘pR’
ERROR: 0:173: Use of undeclared identifier ‘pB’
ERROR: 0:173: Use of undeclared identifier ‘pT’
ERROR: 0:173: Use of undeclared identifier ‘bC’
ERROR: 0:215: Argument 3 to function ‘textureOffset’ must be a constant expression"

These are the links.

youtube.com/watch?v=r-95jCflRSA

github.com/ancillarymagnet/touchfluids

Has anyone tried this?

Ah nuts. I think Malcolm told me about this and I didn’t find a fix for it even though I said I would.

The issue is, like the error says, that the compiler wants a constant, rather than a variable, in that texture lookup, and the way I’ve set that function up would get super ugly if it were all written out with constants.

I gotta think about that some more but TBH that one is in the top 3 chunks of code in that solver I’d have a hard time rephrasing.

I’ll follow up if I come up with a … solve. Sorry.

Hey,

Thanks for taking the time to respond! I’ve been digging into the Fluids patch (on my work computer) and cant thank you enough for posting it. I’ve been wanting to play around with fluid systems for a while but had no clue how they worked. Peeling apart how this works has been extremely enlightening.