CPU usage on osx

Hi,
I am completely new to TD, Mac user… And looking forward to learn a bit more as it looks great!
I downloaded the 0.99 version of touchdesigner and installed it on my Macbook pro (retina early 2013).
When opening TouchDesigner with the example (Newproject.1) my activity monitor shows 85-90% of CPU usage even when I put the project on pause.

Can someone confirm this is normal behaviour, and if not, where I should be looking to check my computer’s configuration ?

The characteristics of the MBP:
2,7Ghz Intel Core I7
16Gb Memory
Graphics: Nvidia Geforce 650M 1024Mb + Intel HD 4000
Thanks,
Alain

My 2014 machine will drop to 50-60% when I paused the timeline. However, pausing the timeline doesn’t stop cooking. To turn off cooking, turn off the orange power button next to Tutorials on the top left bar. That should drop your activity close to nothing.

Hi,
I’m having same issue. I’m on a macbook pro 2017 with an Radeon Pro 560 4096 MB. After making a more elaborate patch running tons of CPU / GPU elements I noticed I was running up to 100% cpu tons of memory.

For my own sanity I closed everything, rebooted the computer, installed a version of the release corresponding to my OS 10.12 (keeping this OS for sake of other software I like to use), and then opened new session with the template nodes i.e. noise Chop to displace TOP. Running at close to 60% CPU.

MacBook Pro (15-inch, 2017)
2.9 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3
Radeon Pro 560 4096 MB

FYI double checked using [url]https://gfx.io/[/url] that I am in fact using Radeon with TD

Update to the above post:

I double checked on two other machines see below for details:

Machine Original

MacBook Pro (15-inch, 2017)
2.9 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3
Radeon Pro 560 4096 MB

CPU on initial startup example or blank 50% usage constant

Machine Alternative #1

OS 10.14.5
MacBook Pro (13-inch, 2018, Four Thunderbolt 3 Ports)
2.3 GHz Intel Core i5
16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3