Bringing in and Animating from Maya

Hello Everyone, My name’s Jay and I’m a Touch Designer Newbie.

Just as a precursor to my questions, I’ll just clue you in as to what I’m trying to do.

I’m basically going to make a stuffed reindeer sing karaoke.
I’ve built, rigged and weighted my model on Maya ( img141.imageshack.us/i/forumimageh.jpg/) and I’m now attempting to bring the reindeer into touch in the hope of (A) Making him imitate people when they sing into a microphone, nothing fancy… just opening and closing his mouth, and (B) Nod his head in time with the music.

Here come the questions!
First of all; is this, by any stretch of imagination, achievable? Bearing in mind this will be the first time I’ve used Touch.

Secondly, How can I bring in the head from Maya into Touch, I feel like I’ve fallen at the first hurdle.

Thirdly, HELP! I haven’t got the foggiest what I’m doing! :open_mouth:
I’ve checked out some of the tutorials into making things move to music and midi controllers, but I can’t see anything relating to what I want to do…

I’d really appreciate some guidance.
Thanks in advance!

You’ll want to use FBX to import the model and the animation. Try to spend time learning about CHOPs and exporting in paricular, since you’ll need those to control the animation of the model.

What you want to do is very doable.

I can give more help when you have more specific questions.

I’ve been practicing with CHOPs and experimenting with what I’ve learnt but so far no dice.
I cannot import any geometry into touch. I’ve exported from Maya as FBX but cannot seem to find the file when I try…

What kind of operator should I be using?
Should I be importing the Mesh seperate to the Skeleton and IK’s?

If I can just get the Deer in there, I should be able to pull this together…

You just drag the .fbx file into Touch to get it to import, or you can use the Import dialog under the file menu.