Is TouchDesigner good for 360 video, AR, VR, etc?

Hi all,

I’m brand new to TouchDesigner–I’ve recently taken one very exciting workshop on projection mapping–and I’m curious about its potential. I’m also a teacher at a local university, and am looking at possible ways to integrate TouchDesigner into my classroom.

If you know the capabilities and limits of this software well, could you let me know if you think that TouchDesigner would be an appropriate tool for an undergraduate art course that covered the following implementations:

Editing content for:

• Augmented Reality
  • Virtual Reality
  • 360 degree video

Output for:

• Augmented Reality
  • Virtual Reality
  • 360 degree video

Again, I’m extremely new to this software so if you can explain why you think TouchDesigner would be good or not good for any of the above 6 tasks I would be immensely grateful. And if you think TouchDesigner might not be the best tool for one of these tasks, and you think there’s a better one, I’d love to hear which one you’re thinking of.

Thanks so much,
Tori

From my experience, Virtual Reality is ok, 360 degree video is ok… but where the problems arise is when you want to record 360 stereoscopic; ie SBS or Top & Bottom stereo. It’s difficult.

You can do all of these things with Touch but it may not be the best for your class.

I have done a bunch with VR and 360 video in touch but for a few reasons it may not be the best introduction.

I never ever suggest people not use touch but in this case, I would recommend Unity.

Unity has tons of plugins for AR including really easy integrations with IOS and Android devices. Touchdesigner does not have any built in AR or mobile integration like that and the learning curve to integrate it yourself will be significant.