Page 1 of 1

Merge two tables with 'Replace cells by row' – Error?

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 6:41 pm
by avnor
Hey there,

I'm trying to merge two tables. Both consist of two columns each [id, name]. Table1 carries a series of id's (duplicate id's present) and empty cells for the name. Table2 has the information on the names for each id. I want to merge them, so that each cell holds a value, even though they are redundant.

When I use the Merge.DAT with 'replace cells by rows' it does the job only once per matching id. It does not fill the cell with a name for a duplicate id. Do I understand this method wrong or is there a little bug?

Thanks in advance.
Norman

Re: Merge two tables with 'Replace cells by row' – Error?

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:21 pm
by raganmd
I don't know if the merge DAT supports multiple matches - if you don't have a huge table / need a solution right away you can get there with a script DAT:
merge_tables_script_dat.tox
(1014 Bytes) Downloaded 25 times

Re: Merge two tables with 'Replace cells by row' – Error?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:44 pm
by avnor
Hey Matthew,

thank you for your help. It works with the script.dat. It keeps up the performance even with longer tables and resulting higher cook times.

It still leaves me a bit baffled when I think about the method itself and why it might not support multiple matches … anyway, the script works!

Thanks again and have a good weekend!
*N