Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

count chop doesnt update when in perform mode

Still a little green? Ask your beginner's questions here

count chop doesnt update when in perform mode

Postby luka23 » Wed May 23, 2018 5:01 am

dear community
i dont konow what im doing wrong or if this is a bug.
when pressing the button in design-mode all good, the counter counts, but when in performance-mode the count chop doesnt update/count when pressing the button...

thank you for your help!
best
luca
Attachments
count_CHOP doesent update in perform.toe
(4.33 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
luka23
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 2:26 pm

[Bug?] re: count chop doesnt update when in perform mode

Postby raganmd » Wed May 23, 2018 11:19 am

That looks like a bug to me.

Can confirm that it doesn't update when in perform mode. If you turn off the viewer for the CHOP it also doesn't update.

If you need this to work now, adding a null after your count with cook type set to always seems to make sure that the values stay current.
raganmd
 
Posts: 1241
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 5:21 am
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: count chop doesnt update when in perform mode

Postby luka23 » Wed May 23, 2018 12:11 pm

hi mathew
thank you very much, i will try that out!
true, looks like this chop has the tendency just to work if its visible, somekind of narcism... :D
should i report as a bug?
best regards
luca
luka23
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: count chop doesnt update when in perform mode

Postby raganmd » Wed May 23, 2018 1:32 pm

I would report it as a bug and add a link back to this thread - I think that's usually a helpful way to tackle these kinds of reports.
raganmd
 
Posts: 1241
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 5:21 am
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: count chop doesnt update when in perform mode

Postby rob » Thu May 24, 2018 4:08 pm

Hello.
You are correct, but this is by design.
Operators in TouchDesigner only update when their outputs are requested.
It could be a tile viewer, an output device, or referenced in another parameter whose parent is visible.

In your case, if you actually use the output of the Count CHOP in something that affects the scene in the performance window, then it should update as often as expected.

For more information:
https://docs.derivative.ca/index.php?title=Cook

Cheers.
User avatar
rob
Staff
 
Posts: 1476
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:14 am


Return to Beginners

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: swampmonster and 7 guests