Login | Register 
FEATURES
APPLICATIONS
DOWNLOADS
EDUCATION
BLOG
WIKI
FORUM
STORE

Any way to pause the playback of A componet

Still a little green? Ask your beginner's questions here

Any way to pause the playback of A componet

Postby cleonx » Wed May 09, 2018 3:53 am

I want to pause some components but not the main timeline. Any idea. Thanks
cleonx
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:57 am

Re: Any way to pause the playback of A componet

Postby nettoyeur » Wed May 09, 2018 6:31 am

TouchDesigner is a pull-based system, most nodes only cook when something is requesting their output. So if you use a Switch/Select TOP/CHOP/DAT to not request any output of that component, the nodes in that component won't cook.
Some useful reading: What causes cooking
Idzard Kwadijk | freelance TouchDesigner consultant | IdzArd.com
Checkout ChopChopChop.org - the TouchDesigner marketplace!
nettoyeur
 
Posts: 1135
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:00 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: Any way to pause the playback of A componet

Postby cleonx » Wed May 09, 2018 10:46 am

Thanks nettoyeur it sounds very easy
cleonx
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:57 am

Re: Any way to pause the playback of A componet

Postby malcolm » Wed May 09, 2018 1:50 pm

You can also add a Component Time to a component. This can be added in the right click menu in the components network background. This gives you an independent timeline for that COMP that can be paused/played.
User avatar
malcolm
Staff
 
Posts: 4371
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:11 am

Re: Any way to pause the playback of A componet

Postby hunt.casey » Wed Jun 12, 2019 5:53 pm

hey folks (especially @malcolm),

Is it possible to control a nested independent timeline based on CHOP data?

I have a component timeline being used to sync audio and midi and drive a bunch of timing information. I have made a very simple UI element to play/pause/reset an audio file, which I'd like to map to the timeline instead. But I cannot seem to find how to reset the nested timeline any way other than the actual touch designer timeline interface.

What are the limitations of working with timelines in this way, and how would one go about setting this up... ideally without programming it in python.

Thanks in advance!
hunt.casey
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 10:35 pm

Re: Any way to pause the playback of A componet

Postby hunt.casey » Wed Jun 12, 2019 6:17 pm

I found this link that answers the question well enough :
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=12447&p=57652&hilit=timeline#p57652

Still hoping there's a way to do this with CHOPS...
hunt.casey
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 10:35 pm


Return to Beginners

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests