Is touchDesigner the right tool? Body poses detection

hello everybody,

This is my first post here, I am a total beginner.

My question is to know if TouchDesigner is the right tool for the following project :
My students want to make a game / installation where the player(s) would move in front of a screen and camera (probably a kinect). When they match certain predefined body positions, a music is played.

On the screen are 3D characters that moves and show the body position to be matched.

I was thinking of using MaxMsp/jitter to check the body position (via matching the player silhouette to predefined images maybe ?) and unreal for the 3D part, then I found out about TouchDesigner and thought it might be a better tool for this project ?

Any insight will be greatly appreciated ! In the meantime, I 'll start learning…

Best

Jerome

(we are originally an animation only department, hence my poor knowledge…)

Very possible indeed, and Touch would be a fine tool to use for this. That that point there’s a project made by another user that does some of what you’re describing:

instagram.com/p/BhZOZF8AWxg … jakobpovel

What kind of learning resources do you need to help you and your students get up to speed?

Thank you very much raganmd !

Yes, this project seems very similar to ours.
I’m not exactly sure what kind of learning resources I need, appart from the starting lessons that are on the Derivative website.

I guess this would involve operators that analyse and compare the video/infrared flux with predrawn images ? and considering the user would move inside the frame, operators that can track down those predrawn patterns in the video flux…

Touch is linked with the Open CV library which i reckon is the way to go
much too hard for me but there’s clever stuff in there for pose recognition