SOP TO CHOP TO SOP TO CHOP! A question about convertion

hey guys!
i started studying touchdesigner last week and Matthew’s tutorials are helping me a lot, but, i’m having a lot of basic questions about converting images to another operators.

i have a TOP operator, with a image (B&W). when i convert this top to a chop, what the chop are doing? it are converting the pixels of the image to a two dimensional row? how can i see this information, as a tab data?
how can i use theis chop information (from a top image) to, for an example, use as coordenates to form a image with a line?

i loved the program, but my background it’s with processing, and not see this numbers and infos are making me so lost =(

You can read what it does on the Top to CHOP wiki page, which opens if you click the question mark icon in the top-left of the parameter window of a node.

Maybe it helps to see this image: (to see the full version: rightclick image, open in new tab )

On the left is TOP of 50 x50 pixels.
Then comes a Top to CHOP which has 4 channels (r,g,b,a) and is 50 samples long.
In this case the Top to CHOP shows the values of a single horizontal row of pixels in the image. But you can also set its crop to a vertical column, a single pixel, or the full image.

Then comes a CHOP to DAT which shows all the numbers in a table.

If you want to use CHOP data to create a 3d model in a SOP, you can use a Limit SOP.

You can use a Select DAT to pick only certain rows/columns from the DAT.
You can use a Select CHOP to pick only certain channels from the CHOP.
etc etc.

Hope this gets you a bit further.

What Idz said.

It might be useful to keep in mind that TOPs are essentially just pixel shaders wrapped with some parameters. This makes them very fast, but hard to debug. Just like you might import and run a fragment shader in Processing, you can use a GLSL TOP to write your own shader (or adapt one from somewhere else).