Quick question about light

Hello, I have a (total beginner) question :
In tutorials videos, the sops in geo comps appear in white, but on my computer they appear in dark grey.

For example if I create Geo, Light, Camera and Render, the picture in the Render Top is black.

I can light it if I change z translate on Light from 10 (default) to -10…
Is that a normal behavior?

Thank you!

TD version : 2017.10940 running on a MacBook Pro 2016 with Iris Graphics 550

It is possible that in the tutorial videos they were using a constantMAT (material) applied to the GEO which would cause the SOP object to emit light.

Thank you for your answer, I was asking about the light source in node viewers to monitor geometries before render, but I can’t find informations on the wiki.

For example if I create a single SOP sphere, there should be a “monitoring” light source in the viewer so I can see it. This light source should be outside the sphere, but on my computer the light is inside the sphere by default.

ie when I create a sphere sop, the sphere appears grey on the node viewer. Then if I zoom in enough to be inside the sphere it is lit up, like the light source is inside the sphere…

I was wandering if it could be a configuration problem of graphic card ?

Do you know what is the normal position of the default light source in the node viewer, and how to eventually change it ?

I can think of a few programming mistakes that could cause unexpected lighting results, or it could be a hardware/config issue, or a software bug… I’d rather not speculate too much without more info. It would help if you post a simple example file where you are having the problem and a screenshot so we can compare render results.

Have you been playing with any TouchDesigner preferences or still using default settings?

Hello,
Here is an example file, I just loaded a geo comp, no modifications.