Massive RAM leak in TOPto CHOP

Hi there! I’m relatively new to TD, but I’m already using it like a year now. I love it, but recently I’ve realised, that whenever there is a TOPto Chop in my network there’s like 3MB of something piling up in my RAM every second (!!!). So far I didn’t realize that since I was just using simple things in the current project, but when I just doubled the number of TOPto Chops the rate of RAM filling became unbearable even with 16GB in my Thinkpad X230t.

Funny thing is that even changing all different parameters in the TOPto Chop doesn’ affect the memory grabbing in any significant way.

Is there a more stable version? I don’t recall such problems with 088… I’m now using TouchDesigner 099.x64.2017.13460.

I would also like to state that the issue is very urgent, I’m working on 13 LED stripes driven by ESP8266 arduinos conrtoled by DMX via Wifi for a Music-Theatre crossover composition/performance which lasts 1 hour. And the premiere is next Tuesday… :confused: :slight_smile: :frowning:

I’ve attached the Dump after the RAM was totally overflown.

Can you help me somehow or direct me in the right direction, please?
TouchDesignerCrash099.x64.2017.13460.1.dmp (275 KB)

Are you able to post a .toe that causes the issue to occur? I’m not able to reproduce in the basic case so it may be specific to certain settings you have set.

Wow, such quick response, too bad I’ve already went to sleep… :smiley:

Here’s the file. It’s a bit noobish, but I don’t see any reason for TD to behave like that…

Many thanks!
PS-All-of-it_1x75.toe (27 KB)

Hey prokosim,

Can you say a little more about the hardware you’re working with? Is that an integrated GPU on the thinkpad?

Machine stats for me:

099 Experimental
win10
gtx 1060
i7

Performance stats:

Windows reports that touch is using about 600 MB of RAM.
Touch reports about 850 MB of RAM use and 600 MB of VRAM.

Hey Raganmd,

I’m using Touchdesigner 099.x64.2017.13460 on an
Intel i5-3320M @ 2.6 GHz running